Logic is for whimps.

I am always amazed by all the illogical things that actually work, and how many logical things don’t.

I have been trying to connect with new people, expand my knowledge and learn from their experiences. This is to both help me as a writer/author and as a human being. I knew this task would be difficult, between the fact that one of the groups of people I am reaching out to tend to be exploited already, and the generally creepiness of the internet (and how disappointing it is that the loudest segment is the perverts and scammers)

I sought out on Craigslist some deaf people to talk to about (thru email) the experience of being deaf, in all of its forms. Most of the time I was hoping to compare what I have been told and what I imagined against reality. I think I ended up with 6 replies (not counting the 24 “Hi I’m [18-24] and horny” replies. Of those 6, I did get 1 person that is answering my emails and both confirming what I had been told, and giving me some new insights (my original source was born deaf, this person had late adolescence onset deafness) I was hoping for 4 or 5 points of view, but it is pretty clear to me that there is a reason people do not trust the internet and I suspect some have doubts about me. I am still in hopes to find a couple more people I can interview by email, but am ready to accept just the two I have.

Logically, in a world with text, email, instant messaging, Facebook and such, we should be better connected to our fellow human beings than ever. In truth, even with all of this electronic communication we are less connected than ever.

On the publishing front, it’s been 22 hours since I sent out my query letter, and no one has filed a restraining order! I’m taking that as a good sign.

Leave a Reply

