Writing Excercise.

Hello all,

Today I took a seminar by a woman named Ann Randolph. It was interesting, we did timed writing exercises, and we talked about morning writing, there were a few other things like that. if you ever get a chance to take one of her classes, do it. sorry I don’t know if she does classes for people outside of the Denver Metro area, she mentioned ‘onine classes’ but I missed details. (if you really want it I can dig it up)

After the seminar we had a beer, her, I and 2 others. And the discussion came up about how they use digital recorders. I don’t I have a different way of holding my thoughts.

I use musical peanut butter. This term, for those of you that don’t know, is a reference to that ANNOYING as anything song that once you hear you can’t get it out of your brain? No matter how bad you want to. Examples, “Dreamer” by Super Tramp, ‘Livin’ La Vida Loca’ by Ricky martin. ‘Red Solo Cup” by [I forget who]. I would like to apologize to those of you that are now humming one or all three of these songs. Before you go to YouTube to find ANYTHING you can to clear your ear holes, finish reading then look up the “Harp Twins“, their music is awesome at clearing your head of peanut butter, or as effective as you can get.

Anyway if I am driving, and I get one of my killer ideas, I will put on my ‘peanut butter’ play list, and burn the idea into my head, using the peanut butter to stick it there. this works for me incredibly well, at the cost of damaging my limited sanity from putting music in my head that I can’t get out.

Then again I am a writer, so it’s not like I had a lot of sanity to begin with.

Any thoughts about this? Is it a crazy but useful idea, or am I just psycho and should be getting help of some kind?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n6ugC3LU6pw is the link for the girls I mentioned.

Leave a Reply

