Reading Out Loud

Hello all,

In the grand race that I call “digging for an audience” Rakasha is moving somewhere between Glacier and Geographic speeds.  The editor has my final version, and I added so much to it, the book is going to be double the length of the original.

I also found a potential new direction for my Tiger Demon.   There is a company that will make it into an audio book.  They will want 1/2 of what I make, but will not charge anything up front.

I can see some advantages to this

1)   exposure  – there are 2 million books printed a year, but only about 150 thousand made to audio books.  Fiction is the most often converted.

2) The Risk to cost ratio is in favor of doing it.  It will cost me nothing, but I stand to make some money from it

3) its one more media that my name is tied to,

Creating a name is crucial. Rakasha is not supposed to make me rich (although if it did I wouldn’t object.)  So my readers, I would LOVE it if you would chime in and tell me, what am I missing ? The audio would be ready the start of October, the prime time for Horror media.   But there must be a down side.

Anyone ? Anyone ? Bueller ? Bueller ?

 

3 thoughts on “Reading Out Loud

  1. The audio book sounds like a great idea. Not sure what you’re missing though. I don’t know how the horror genre works. Going gangbuster on marketing is always useful. No analyzing or thinking. Just post and push.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

